Removal truck parking guide for Sydney councils
How truck parking works on moving day
A removal truck that is loading or unloading is exempt from the one-hour limit on heavy vehicles in built-up areas.
That exemption is the rule that lets most Sydney moves happen without a permit. Under NSW Road Rule 200, a vehicle over 4.5 tonnes gross mass, or 7.5 metres or longer, can stand in a built-up area for one hour at most. The limit does not apply while the truck is picking up or dropping off goods. Our trucks run from 4.5 to 14 tonnes, so this rule covers nearly every job we do.
A loading zone works the same way for shorter stops. A vehicle built to carry goods can use a loading zone for 30 minutes while loading or unloading. A clearway or a no-stopping zone is different. No truck can stop there during the signed hours, except in an emergency, and fines or towing follow.
Only one of the 23 councils in this guide names a removal truck in a permit it sells. The City of Sydney lets a removalist's truck use a resident's visitor permit. Every other council either caps its visitor and tradesperson permits at 3 or 4.5 tonnes, excludes trucks outright, or sells no parking permits at all.
The permit most councils do publish is a works zone. A works zone reserves kerb space for vehicles engaged in construction at a building site. Councils take four to twelve weeks to approve one, charge an application fee of $596 to $1,990, then charge per metre per week. That is the wrong tool for a household move, and no council page in this guide says a removal counts as construction.
So on most streets we park legally as close as the signs allow, keep loading continuous, and carry the extra distance. Local moves are charged from $60 plus GST per half hour, so a long carry shows up as time, not as a permit fee. When a street has no legal space at all, we ask the customer to book the council permit that applies and we time the truck around it.
For an apartment, the loading dock belongs to the building, not the council. We ask the building manager for the dock booking, the height clearance, the permitted hours and the lift booking before the day. A council permit never reserves a private dock.
Source: NSW Government parking rules and restricted parking (27 September 2026). Heavy vehicle and loading zone rules as published by Georges River Council, parking rules, and City of Ryde, heavy vehicles (30 September 2026). Truck sizes from our fleet list.

City of Sydney
The City of Sydney is the only council in this guide whose visitor permit covers a removal truck by name.
A resident buys visitor permits in books of 10 for $30, or $11 with a pensioner concession, up to 50 a year. Each permit is a single-use day permit for areas signed "permit holders excepted". The council's own wording is "only passenger and commercial vehicles under 4.5t, or a removalist's truck can use a visitor permit". Permits are posted within 5 working days of a complete application.
The tradesperson visitor permit does not help a move. It costs $60 per vehicle per week, takes up to 10 working days, and cannot be used for a truck or any vehicle over 4.5 tonnes. For construction traffic the council runs a temporary works application, assessed in at least 2 working days, at $114 per week for assessment and $337 per week for a residential loading area.
Our suburb pages in this council: Pyrmont, Redfern, Zetland, Alexandria.
Source: Apply visitor parking permit and the tradesperson visitor parking permit guide PDF at cityofsydney.nsw.gov.au (30 September 2026). Temporary works, approval to use the public way for minor construction works (27 September 2026).
Inner West
Inner West Council has no permit for a moving truck, and its work zone permit can take eight weeks.
Residents in permit areas can get visitor permits, posted within 5 business days of an online application. Trade permits run up to 12 weeks for development and compliance works and up to 4 weeks for quote-related works. Neither permit is described for a removal, and the permit page publishes no vehicle weight limit.
The work zone permit is for construction. Approval takes up to 8 weeks and may need the traffic committee. The application fee is $575.20, sign installation is $969, and weekly rent and a deposit come on top.
Our suburb pages in this council: Inner West hub, Newtown, Marrickville, Petersham, Stanmore, Annandale, St Peters, Sydenham, Drummoyne.
Source: Parking permit (30 September 2026). Work zone permit (27 September 2026).
Randwick
Randwick will not issue its visitor or tradesperson permit to a truck, and its works zone costs $596.40 before the weekly charge.
The visitor or tradesperson permit costs $39 a month, runs one to three months, and is tied to one registration. The council states it "cannot be issued to long or heavy vehicles (from 7.5 metres in length and longer; and from 4.5 tonnes, and heavier), trucks, buses, tractors and trailers". Applications in person are handled at the counter, and postal applications take up to 10 working days.
A works zone is assessed for construction with a traffic management plan. Approval takes about 8 weeks. The non-refundable application fee is $596.40, then $76 per linear metre per week for parallel parking in low-density residential zones, $152 for angle parking, and $112 or $224 in other zones. Fees are effective 1 July 2026.
Our suburb pages in this council: Randwick, Coogee, Maroubra, Eastern Suburbs hub.
Source: Visitor and tradesperson parking permits, works zones and parking FAQs (30 September 2026).
Waverley
Waverley's tradesperson permit costs $116.50 for seven days but excludes any truck, any vehicle over 4.5 tonnes and any vehicle longer than 6 metres.
The resident applies, the permit is linked to the vehicle's number plate, and most applications are approved straight away. Applications that need checks take up to 5 business days. Visitor permits carry the same vehicle exclusions.
A construction or work zone is applied for through the council's online portal. Written permission must come before use, and traffic committee review means at least 6 weeks. The fee is quoted through the portal at application.
Our suburb pages in this council: Bondi, Bondi Junction.
Source: Tradesperson parking permit and visitor parking permit (30 September 2026). Waverley application portal (27 September 2026).
Woollahra
Woollahra's visitor permit is not valid on any vehicle over 3 tonnes, so it covers no removal truck we run.
Each residential property in a resident parking area can buy up to 25 single-day visitor permits a year, sold in lots of five, ten or twenty-five at the Double Bay customer service centre. The permit may be used by tradespeople, but the 3 tonne limit stands.
The works zone is a construction zone. The council's page says approval generally takes four to six weeks, and the 2026-27 application form says the whole process including signs can take 6 to 8 weeks. The application fee is $670, non-refundable, and the zone then costs $89 per metre per week for parallel parking in a residential area, $165 for angle parking, and $118 to $311 in non-residential and metered areas. Signage costs $269, and the minimum zone is four weeks.
Source: Resident visitor parking permits, works zones and the Works Zone Application FY2026-2027 PDF linked from that page (30 September 2026).
North Sydney
North Sydney sells day visitor permits for $2 each, but none is valid on a vehicle over 3 tonnes.
Each residential property can buy 30 visitor permits a year at the customer service centre at 200 Miller Street. A permit exempts the bearer from time limits and meter fees for one day. The council's wording is "not valid for use on a caravan, box trailer, boat trailer or any vehicle that exceeds 3 tonnes". No tradesperson permit is published.
The works zone permit is a construction arrangement. The application fee is $1,990, review takes 30 business days before committee and council stages, and the initial permit runs 16 weeks. Rent, a deposit and other charges are extra.
Our suburb pages in this council: North Sydney, Cremorne, North Shore hub.
Source: Visitor parking and parking (30 September 2026). Works zones permit (27 September 2026).
Willoughby
Willoughby's tradesperson permit lasts up to 5 days and needs at least 10 business days to process, so it only suits a move booked well ahead.
A resident applies on behalf of the tradesperson. The permit allows parking in time-restricted and metered areas but not in loading zones, no parking zones, truck zones or bus zones. There is an application fee plus a fee for each day, at the council's adopted rates. The page sets no weight limit. Applications lodged within 24 hours of the work may be refused.
The work zone permit is for construction loading. Minimum processing is 4 weeks, the local traffic committee must approve it, and standard hours are 7am to 5pm Monday to Friday and 7am to noon Saturday. An application fee is charged on lodgement and a rental fee after assessment.
Source: Apply for a tradesperson parking permit and apply for a work zone permit (30 September 2026).
Ku-ring-gai
Ku-ring-gai publishes no resident, visitor or tradesperson parking permit, so a moving truck relies on the street rules alone.
The council's parking page covers car parks, charging stations, fines and mobility permits and nothing else. The only kerb-space application is the works zone form, which asks applicants to allow a minimum of four weeks for traffic committee consideration. Standard hours are 7am to 5pm on weekdays and 8am to noon Saturday. The fee is set in the council's fees and charges and must be paid for the first 52 weeks before approval.
Source: Parking and the works zone application PDF linked from roads and footpaths forms (30 September 2026).
Canterbury-Bankstown
Canterbury-Bankstown asks for a work zone application at least 8 weeks ahead, and describes the zone as parking for a construction site.
The council's roads and parking page describes enforcement and mobility permits only. No resident or visitor permit is published there. The work zone form says it is "to reserve an area of roadway for the parking of vehicles associated with a construction site". Urgent applications lodged 4 weeks ahead attract an extra fee. The fee amounts are not on the page.
Our suburb pages in this council: Canterbury-Bankstown, Clemton Park, Roselands, Revesby.
Source: Roads public transport and parking and work zones (30 September 2026).
Bayside
Bayside's visitor permit excludes trucks, and its stand-and-operate approval costs $355 plus at least $352 a day.
Residents in a resident parking scheme buy 24-hour visitor permits in packs of ten, up to five packs a year, for visitors including tradespeople. A truck, bus, tram, tractor or trailer is not eligible. The permit fee is set in the annual fees and charges.
To stand a registered vehicle or plant on a council road for work, the application fee is $355 and daily occupation fees run from $352 to $1,055 depending on lanes occupied. Assessment takes a minimum of 10 working days. The works zone application sits in the same public domain works directory.
Our suburb pages in this council: Rockdale, Mascot, Monterey, Bexley, Daceyville, Pagewood.
Source: Parking permit applications and stand and operate registered vehicle or plant (30 September 2026). Public domain works (27 September 2026).
Georges River
Georges River gives a moving truck one hour on a built-up street unless it is picking up or dropping off goods.
The council's parking rules page states the heavy vehicle limit plainly, and its resident parking policy says "trucks, buses, caravans, trailers and vehicles classified as heavy or long vehicles are not eligible for parking permits". Its parking FAQ says works zones are installed at the request of building sites and paid for by them. Overnight truck parking exists on Planthurst Road, Carlton, between 7pm and 5am.
Our suburb pages in this council: Hurstville, Carlton, Allawah, Oatley, St George hub.
Source: Parking rules, frequently asked questions and the Resident Parking Permit Scheme Policy PDF (March 2024) on the council site (30 September 2026).
Sutherland Shire
Sutherland Shire's work zone application is the only council approval that mentions loading and unloading vehicles, and it carries both an application fee and a permit fee.
The council sells no general visitor or tradesperson permit. Its parking page lists enforcement duties, the Cronulla residents' scheme and mobility permits. A goods vehicle can use a loading zone for up to 30 minutes while loading or unloading. Work zone applications cover "the use of a roadway for construction purposes or the loading and unloading of vehicles" and need an online account. The page gives no assessment time for work zones.
Our suburb pages in this council: Sutherland, Miranda, Cronulla.
Source: Parking and safety, loading zones and permits for work in public spaces (30 September 2026).
Parramatta
Parramatta issues one transferable visitor permit per home in its resident parking areas, processed in 2 to 5 business days.
Eligible residents can hold two resident permits and the visitor permit, all valid for a year. The page sets no vehicle weight limit.
The works zone is a construction application. In the 2026-27 fees and charges the non-refundable application fee is $2,016, with processing time stated as approximately 8 weeks. An urgency fee of $1,004.85 buys approval within 5 weeks for a new application. The zone then costs $92.95 per metre per week in the CBD, with lower rates elsewhere.
Our suburb pages in this council: Parramatta, North Parramatta, Westmead, Sydney Olympic Park.
Source: Resident parking permits and the 2026-2027 fees and charges PDF, section 6.25.4 (30 September 2026).
Cumberland
Cumberland runs residential parking permits in four pockets only, and its works zone needs 28 days' notice.
The permit areas are Clyde, Granville, Susan Street in Auburn, and Westmead with Pendle Hill and South Wentworthville. Each has its own application form. The engineering services guideline says a works zone application must be lodged at least 28 days before the zone is needed. The fee is not on the fetched documents.
Our suburb pages in this council: Granville, Merrylands, Toongabbie.
Source: Residential parking permit (30 September 2026). Engineering services guidelines (27 September 2026).
Ryde
Ryde's work zone permit costs $822 plus $36 per metre per week and must be lodged 10 business days before the work.
The July 2026 form describes the zone as parking "for vehicles associated with a construction site". Metered spaces inside the zone cost $58.50 per space per weekday on top. A zone that closes a travel lane needs the traffic committee and can take 8 to 12 weeks. Non-construction road activity permits need five business days.
The council's heavy vehicle page repeats the one-hour rule for trucks over 4.5 tonnes or 7.5 metres in built-up areas. Resident parking ePermits exist in scheme areas, and no tradesperson permit is published.
Our suburb pages in this council: Ryde.
Source: Heavy vehicles, parking and work zone permit form (30 September 2026).
Northern Beaches
Northern Beaches parking permits exclude trucks, and its works zone is defined by construction work only.
The permit FAQ says an eligible vehicle must not be "a motor home, truck, boat, bus, caravan, trailer or tractor". In the Manly scheme a property owner can register a tradesperson's plate on a multi-use permit for up to 40 free 24-hour sessions a year, then $5 a day. A works zone is "a signposted parking restriction allowing construction vehicles engaged in construction work in or near the Work Zone to stand at the kerb", applied for as a Standard or Primary zone. Fees sit in the annual fees and charges document.
Our suburb pages in this council: Northern Beaches hub, Brookvale, Forestville, Beacon Hill, Allambie Heights.
Source: Frequently asked questions and works zone application form 4052 (30 September 2026).
Hornsby
Hornsby's work zone costs $24.50 per linear metre per week on top of application and sign fees, and takes about 28 days.
The council's permit page lists work zones, mobile cranes, skip bins and temporary road closures. No resident, visitor or tradesperson parking permit appears. Road closure applications go in 28 days before works. Enquiries go to 9847 6615.
Our suburb pages in this council: Hornsby.
Source: Apply for a permit (30 September 2026).
The Hills
The Hills Shire issues no residential parking permits and says a works zone takes at least 12 weeks from application to signs.
The council's parking page states "Council does not currently issue residential parking permits within The Hills". A works zone is for "vehicles constructed principally for the conveyance of goods" that are "actually engaged in taking up or setting down goods or building materials for the building site". The traffic committee process generally takes 10 to 12 weeks, an application fee is payable before that, and zones in no parking or no stopping areas are allowed only in exceptional circumstances.
Our suburb pages in this council: Hills District hub, Castle Hill, Baulkham Hills, Beaumont Hills, Box Hill.
Source: Parking, footpaths and roads in The Hills and works zone on a public road (30 September 2026).
Blacktown
Blacktown's only resident permit scheme is the medical precinct near the hospital, and its overnight truck parking is limited to industrial streets.
Signed overnight truck parking lets long or heavy vehicles stand between 6pm and 6am on weekdays and all day at weekends, in limited sections of industrial areas only.
The work zone application is a construction form tied to a development approval. It must be lodged at least 12 weeks before the works, or 26 weeks if the site is within a kilometre of a railway station. The council charges a non-refundable application fee, a refundable deposit and a per-metre per-week zone fee, all set in its goods and services pricing schedule.
Our suburb pages in this council: Blacktown, Seven Hills, Riverstone.
Source: City parking, overnight truck parking and works zone application form (30 September 2026).
Penrith
Penrith's parking FAQ says "Council does not provide parking permits", and its work zone can take six weeks plus ten business days for signs.
The work zone gives a construction site a right of access from the property boundary to the road shoulder. Approval can take up to 6 weeks, or longer with the local traffic committee. Signs go up within 10 business days of payment. The fee is in the council's fees and charges. Applications go through the Section 138 forms on the council portal.
Our suburb pages in this council: Penrith.
Source: Parking frequently asked questions and roads paths driveways (30 September 2026).
Liverpool
Liverpool treats any activity that occupies road space as a road occupancy, and points removalists at the same factsheet as builders.
The council lists construction work, lane closures, events, footpath closures and skip bins as road occupancies. Its parking page covers car parks, meters and fine reporting and no permit for a truck. The page links a 2026 factsheet for how to apply, and that link opened a staff sign-in page when we checked it, so lead time and fee are not public.
Our suburb pages in this council: Moorebank.
Source: Road occupancy permits and parking (30 September 2026).
Campbelltown
Campbelltown publishes no parking permit and no works zone page, only a Section 138 application for works in the road corridor.
Section 138 consent covers driveways, stormwater, footpath and pavement works and anything that disturbs a public road. Fees are calculated inside the online application. Since 8 December 2025 the council takes these applications on its own website instead of the NSW Planning Portal.
Our suburb pages in this council: Campbelltown, Ingleburn, Minto, Macarthur hub.
Source: Section 138 applications (30 September 2026).
Camden
Camden's road occupancy permit covers non-construction activity on a road, including works zone signage, and most activities need a traffic guidance scheme.
The public road activity page lists mobile cranes, skips, hoardings and works zone signage as examples. Fees are set in the council's fees and charges. The application is an online form. The council's PDF form, October 2021 edition, offers "Works Zone / Truck Zone" as an activity, charges a non-refundable application fee, and says approval may take up to 10 working days. Extra road occupancy fees are advised within five business days and must be paid before approval.
Our suburb pages in this council: Camden, Narellan, Narellan Vale, Gregory Hills, Leppington.
Source: Public road activity and road occupancy permit application, October 2021 (30 September 2026). Online application road occupancy permit online form (27 September 2026).
Council comparison
A works zone application fee is not the cost of the zone. Every council that publishes one also charges per metre per week once the zone is approved.
The table shows the permit a removal truck can actually use, if any, and the construction works zone or road occupancy terms for reference. A blank fee means the council publishes it only in its annual fees and charges.
| Council | Truck permit | Works zone lead time | Works zone fee | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| City of Sydney | Visitor permit, $30 per 10, removalist's truck named | Temporary works, at least 2 working days | $114 per week assessment | Link |
| Inner West | None published for trucks | Up to 8 weeks | $575.20 plus $969 signs | Link |
| Randwick | None, permit excludes 4.5 t and 7.5 m vehicles | About 8 weeks | $596.40 | Link |
| Waverley | None, permit excludes trucks and vehicles over 4.5 t or 6 m | At least 6 weeks | Quoted in portal | Link |
| Woollahra | None, visitor permit capped at 3 t | 6 to 8 weeks | $670 | Link |
| North Sydney | None, visitor permit capped at 3 t | 30 business days plus committee | $1,990 | Link |
| Willoughby | Tradesperson permit, up to 5 days, no weight limit stated, 10 business days | Minimum 4 weeks | Application plus rental fee | Link |
| Ku-ring-gai | None published | Minimum 4 weeks | Fees and charges | Link |
| Canterbury-Bankstown | None published | At least 8 weeks, urgent 4 weeks | Fees and charges | Link |
| Bayside | None, visitor permit excludes trucks | Stand and operate, 10 working days | $355 plus $352 to $1,055 a day | Link |
| Georges River | None, permits exclude heavy vehicles | Works zones at building sites' request | Fees and charges | Link |
| Sutherland Shire | None published | Not stated | Application plus permit fee | Link |
| Parramatta | Visitor permit, one per home, 2 to 5 business days, no weight limit stated | About 8 weeks, 5 weeks with urgency fee | $2,016, urgency $1,004.85 | Link |
| Cumberland | Resident permits in four areas only | At least 28 days | Fees and charges | Link |
| Ryde | None published | Lodge 10 business days ahead, 8 to 12 weeks with committee | $822 plus $36 per metre per week | Link |
| Northern Beaches | None, permits exclude trucks | Not stated | Fees and charges | Link |
| Hornsby | None published | About 28 days | Application, signs, $24.50 per metre per week | Link |
| The Hills | None, no residential permits issued | At least 12 weeks | Application fee before committee | Link |
| Blacktown | None, medical precinct scheme only | At least 12 weeks, 26 weeks near a station | Pricing schedule, plus deposit | Link |
| Penrith | None, council provides no parking permits | Up to 6 weeks plus 10 business days for signs | Fees and charges | Link |
| Liverpool | None published | Factsheet not public | Factsheet not public | Link |
| Campbelltown | None published | Section 138 only | Calculated in application | Link |
| Camden | None published | Up to 10 working days, 2021 form | Fees and charges | Link |
Source: Council URLs in each row, read on 27 and 30 September 2026. Fees change each 1 July.
Cite this report
A parking figure is only useful with the date it was checked, because council fees reset every July.
Suggested citation: Next Level Removals, "Removal truck parking guide for Sydney councils", source check 30 September 2026, nextlevelremovals.com.au/sydney-removal-truck-parking-guide/.
Source: Council and NSW Government URLs cited above.

